Solenopsis geminata - Fungal Infection!! HALP!

• Hello everyone! I am knew here so apologies if this isn't the best place to ask. Unfortunately I am in a bit of a situation where it appears my Solenopsis geminata are suffering from what appears to be a fungus infestion (at least so I have been told by people who have seen it before) it is called thelohania solenopsae. Apparently / supposedly. I have been told to give them lots of honey and a few other things to help try and fend off the infection ;( but I was hoping that maybe, just maybe you peeps would have some next level knowledge / advice / experience to help explain or tackle this situation! <3 https://gyazo.com/b573a27b4138b2fea43e0c460795df09

• Hello Antscapades,

sorry to hear about your problem. However, I don't think I can see a fungal infection. The picture just shows a callow worker, and you can see some fat bodies shining through. I'm not an expert, but I wouldn't be so sure whether this actually is a fungal infection.
    I don't know where you are from, but I assume you're from North America?
    According to W. Tschinkel ('The Fire Ants', 2015), fungal infections are quite common among fire ants, reaching e.g. in polygynous S. invicta populations up to 23% of all colonies. The fungal infection does not seem to have negative impact on worker life span, but it probably affects queen fertility and thus, over time, leads to a decline in worker population. I found no information about succeeded treatments, however you could try different fungicides and mix them in the sugar water (in low concentration!), and just see how it developes.

Anyway, probably the best thing to do is simply to wait and see whether the colony is actually negatively impacted (which would hint towards a fungal infection), before doing any experiments.
    Make sure no infected individuals (especially brood) escapes outside!